Charles Valentin Alkan - composer, legendary pianist and friend of both Chopin and Liszt, is here represented by a CD which includes two first recordings: Fantasticheria and the Scherzo Focoso Op.34. Believed to have originally been intended as the 11th Minor Key Study in Op.39, the Scherzo was later published as a single work. Described by Ronald Smith as 'a remorseless path to pianistuc immolation for all but the most invincible techniques', it has here been recorded as a single 'straight-take', and captures Alkan at his most dynamic. The other works are also Alkan rarities, many having had only one previous recording, which is long since deleted. They are a mixture of the lyrical, expressive and fiery, and will appeal to all lovers of 19th century piano repertoire.


Track Listing

 1.  'Quasi Caccia' - Caprice   Op 53
 2.  Palpitamento
 3.  Impromptu in F#
 4.  Fantasticheria (first recording)
 5.  Bourrée d'Auvergne  Op 29
   Esquisses  Op 63
 6.  No. 4 - Les Cloches
 7.  No. 5 - Quasi Coro
 8.  No. 8 - Pseudo-Naïveté
 9.  No. 20 - Morituri te salutant
 10.  No. 21 - Innocenza
   Trois Andantes Romantiques  Op 13
 11.  No. 1
 12.  No. 2
 13.  No. 3
 14.  Scherzo Focoso  Op 34 (first recording)












The cost of the CD is £12.99. In addition postage and packaging to the UK is £1.20, to Eire and Europe £3.50 and Worldwide is £4.70.

If you wish to order a CD, please contact me.





Bortkiewicz was born in Kharkov (Ukraine) in 1877 and had by any criterion a fascinating life. Living through the Russian Revolution and both World Wars, he spent much of his time uprooted, wandering and often in poverty. Yet during this time he was able, nonetheless, to compose some magnificent works, including three piano concertos, several symphonic and orchestral works and many pieces of varying length for the piano - his own instrument. Full of melody and always romantic and tonal, it is only recently that some of his output has been revived - and much is still lost. Bortkiewicz died in Vienna in 1952.

To record this CD we were fortunate in being able to obtain permission from the Holburne Museum in Bath to record the music on the Steinway concert grand that Sergei Rachmaninov chose from Steinway's showrooms in London at the start of the 20th century, and which he used for all his UK performances after 1928. With a stunningly beautiful treble range and a thunderous bass which is very evident in this recording, it really is a magnificent instrument.

Track Listing


   Lamentations and Consolations, Op 17
 1.  Recitativo dolente – andantino
 2.  Tranquillo e pensieroso
 3.  Allegro non tanto
 4.  Sostenuto e pensieroso – andante
 5.  Andante
 6.  Cantabile
 7.  Moderato
 8.  Andante
   Lyrica Nova, Op 59
 9.  Con moto - affetuoso
 10.  Andantino
 11.  Andantine
 12.  Con slancio
   Preludes, Op 66 Nos 1 & 3 (No 2 lost)
 13.  Prelude No 1
 14.  Prelude No 3
   Sonata No 2, Op 60 (recorded live in concert)
 15.  Allegro ma non troppo
 16.  Allegretto
 17.  Andante misericordioso
 18.  Agitato














The cost of the CD is £9.99. In addition postage and packaging to the UK is £1.20, to Eire and Europe £3.50 and Worldwide is £4.70.

If you wish to order multiple CDs, please contact me before placing a direct order from the website, as postage will be combined.

If you wish to purchase a CD, please contact me.



  Site Map